Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 25 Wausaukee Gullion

This is the last recipe in my family favorites recipe book. You have a total of 26 recipes in all. Remember, I gave you page 26, Hot Wassail, in December 2015.

Today’s recipe came from Carrie Dee Murrah, my husband’s mother.

Carrie

Carrie Dee and Tommy

She gave it to me at a recipe shower before Tommy and I were married. It’s one he liked as a child. It’s so easy to make for a newly wed. And it is so quick when you have hungry children at dinner time.

Wausaukee Gullion Alaskan Dish

Ingredients

pan

Ingredients and Frying Pan

1 pound of ground beef

1 can 16 oz. whole kernel corn  (do not drain any of the cans)

1 can 28 oz. diced tomatoes

1 can 16 oz. Ranch style beans or Kidney beans

½ onion chopped

2 slices of bacon

Instructions

Since we were married, I have used an electric skillet to make many of our meals. Over our almost 50 years of marriage, I have probably replaced our original electric skillet four times. This was a typical wedding gift in 1966. Now many young women haven’t even seen an electric skillet. I make Wausaukee in my electric skillet.

Fry bacon. Remove from skillet. Add chopped onion and sauté. Add meat and brown. Break-up meat and cook until no longer pink. Season with salt, pepper, and minced garlic to taste. Break-up fried bacon into small pieces and return to skillet. Add beans, tomatoes, and corn. Simmer for 30 minutes.

Wausaukee

Wausaukee Gullion

You can serve with rice and a salad for a hearty meal.

Eat

Dinner is Ready

That’s it, folks. When we meet again, I will have Play Date #15 for you. Learn how to embellish a vintage glove made for hanging. A small card for Mother’s Day is inserted in the top of the glove. Oh, so sweet. I’ve made six of them for the Texas Quilt Museum and three for my etsy shop, which I’ll add to the shop tomorrow.

glove

Mother’s Day Glove

My mother and mother-in-law are no longer living, so it makes me happy to be making these mementos for someone else to give to their mother. Think of your mother today.

Mother

Mother Love

Love and hugs to you until we meet again, Judy

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

