Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 24 Baked Turkey the Easy Way

For so many years of my married life we had Thanksgiving Dinner at my mom’s home and Christmas dinner at Tommy’s mom and dad’s home. So I rarely baked a turkey until our kids were grown and married.

Many friends told me, over the years, that it’s not hard to bake a turkey. I tried it a couple of times, in different ways, but it seemed like a lot of trouble to me. My assistant for more than 20 years at Quilts, Inc., Kim DeCoste, told me of an extremely, fail-proof easy way to bake a turkey.

runway

Kim Cheering Me On at a Silly Quilt Festival Luncheon

Now, I have no problem baking a turkey for Christmas Dinner. Troy has always been our turkey carver and Todd our mashed potato maker. I love having family in the kitchen with me. Makes me so happy.

IMG_1335

Troy Carving Turkey

You need

Turkey Roaster with lid

roaster

Turkey Roaster Inherited from My Mother-in Law

Extra Wide Reynolds Wrap

Thawed turkey                    I choose a 23-25 lb. Butterball Turkey

Instructions

Line roaster with Reynolds Wrap long enough to wrap around the turkey and seal it. Use two sheets of wrap. Lay one down the length of the pan and the other on top of first wrap laid down the width of the pan.

Empty insides of turkey and wash inside. Pat dry with paper towel. Put pepper all over the turkey skin.

Place turkey in Reynolds Wrap lined pan. Pull all four sides of Reynolds Wrap around turkey two at a time. Wrap tightly. The turkey should not be exposed anywhere. You won’t open and peak at any time so the juices and steam stay inside.

Follow cooking time on packaging that came with turkey. We use a meat thermometer in the end to make sure the turkey is cooked. Troy has patience and won’t take the turkey out until it’s time. Instructions for this will be with the turkey.

The last 30 minutes of baking, peal back foil to brown skin.

This makes a nice moist turkey. I’ve been happy with it every time.

Next week will be the last of the Saturday recipes I will post for you from my family recipe book. After that, I will post a new “Play Date” tutorial for making something with a vintage glove for Mother’s Day. It makes me think of my mother.

Mom in her apartment

Mom a Few Years Before She Died in 2001

May you have happy memories today of people who have passed through your life and made a difference in who you are. Love and hugs, Judy

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 24 Baked Turkey the Easy Way”

  1. Cindy Says:

    I loved your sweet mama…great photo of her!

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      Thanks, Cindy. She always said she was like a duck in water…calm on the surface, but paddling like crazy beneath. I imagine this would be true with 5 children to raise. I loved my times with you, Cindy, those years living a few streets away from each other.

      Like

  2. BettyLou Says:

    This sounds so simple, Judy, thank you for sharing. For years I roasted my turkey in a brown paper bag, a recipe I found in a,church cookbook from,the 50s. Had to stop as,the grocery bags got smaller and then had,colored printing on them. Your method sounds like the next best thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

