Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 20 Pecan Pralines

Mom loved her sweets. You can’t get more sugary than these pralines. She would make a batch and eat it all herself over several days and she was a tiny woman. If I was lucky, she would make a batch while I was there for a visit. Mother died several years ago at age 89, but she lives on through her recipes and the love of a large family.

pralines

Yummy Pralines

Suzanne, my sister, and I had both written our own instructions from Mom for making her pralines, but they were slightly different. On one of Suzanne’s visits to my house we collaborated and successfully made Mom’s Pralines. Our collaboration is the recipe below.

suzanne

Suzanne and I

Mom’s Pecan Pralines

Ingredients

2 cups light brown sugar (packed)

1 cup white sugar

2/3 cup Pet canned milk

3 tablespoons butter or margarine

¼ cup Karo syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 heaping cup coarsely chopped pecans

ingredients

Ingredients

Instructions

Put all ingredients, except pecans, in heavy saucepan.

in pot

Everything in Pot

Stir and bring to soft boil. Cook for approximately 10 minutes stirring all the time. Stir in nuts. Cook 5 minutes longer while still stirring.

boil

Slow Boil

The test to see if it’s ready:

Drop a spoonful of candy in a cup of cold water. If you can move it with your finger so it sticks together to form a ball it is ready.

test

Test If Candy is Ready

When test indicates it’s ready, let cool in pan for 10-20 minutes as you beat by hand.

beaten

Beaten and Cooled

Drop by spoonfuls on waxed paper. It should firm-up immediately.

spoonfuls

Spoonfuls

Recipe makes approximately 44 small candy pieces.

drop

44 Spoonfuls

Like Mom, I’d like to eat the whole batch. Today was Day 3 of Chemo by tablet. I can’t eat two hours before or after I take the tablets. So I consciously did not start this candy-making until I had passed the 2-hours-after mark. You can’t eat just one. I dare you. Much love and much sugar to you today, Judy

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 20 Pecan Pralines”

  1. Nancy Says:

    Yummy! Thanks for sharing!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. Kay Swartzkopf Smith Says:

    I found you cannot eat just one!! I guess the Jefferson neighborhood had similar recipes as my Mom made these pralines too! I have the recipe in my notebook I call “Tried and True”. I used to make them and give as gifts when we lived in California as they are the best praline ever! Have not made any recently as my husband is a diabetic and the “cannot eat just one” theory would not be helpful for him! But, I do have warm memories of great pralines! Enjoy them for us!

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      My husband and I have done a substantial job on eating the praline batch I made 6 days ago. I won’t make those again for a while, but oh, what a treat for a week. Sorry you and your hubby can’t eat them. Thanks for stopping by, Kay.

      Like

  3. Mary Nyberg Says:

    Me too, I love the sweets and endulge daily, but most of all I loved the sister pic. 2 beautiful sisters–inside and out! Love ya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

