Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 19 Easy Cheesy Potatoes

Since Thanksgiving is so close to Christmas, each year I choose to have a Honey Baked Ham for Thanksgiving and Turkey for Christmas. These potatoes are easy and go well with baked ham and Green Bean Bundles.

The recipe came from members of my Stitch and Bitch group in Victoria, Texas. I was one of the original members of this stitching group and active for about 25 years.

judy

Michelle, Judy, Judy, Judy, & Betty Jo

The membership changed many times over the years, but it was always nice to get together once a month for stitching, talking and lunching.

nell

Una Mae, Judy, Michelle, Nell

We tried to keep 12 members in the group so each member took a turn once a year to host our group.

tanya

Tanya, Jimmie, Carol, Michelle, Judy

I moved back to Houston from Victoria nine years ago, but the group continues on today. I miss those relationships.

andra

Judy, Andra, Michelle, and Betty Jo many years ago.

Easy Cheesy Potatoes

potato

Potato Ingredients

Ingredients

32 oz. frozen hash brown potatoes

8 oz. carton of sour cream

1 can cream of mushroom soup

12 oz. grated Cheddar cheese

½ tsp. salt

¼ tsp. pepper

1 small onion chopped into small pieces

2 cups crushed corn flakes            Put these in a zip-lock bag and mash with your hand.

½ cup melted butter

Instructions

Place hash brown potatoes in 9″ X 13″ Pyrex dish sprayed with Pam. Stir in chopped onions. Mix together sour cream, soup, cheese, salt, and pepper. Spread mixture over potatoes and onions. Top with the crushed corn flakes. Drizzle the melted butter over the corn flakes. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour. Everyone will go back for seconds. What is left over is good the next day heated in the microwave.thanksgiving

Did you make any New Year’s resolutions? I used to make resolutions every year, and they were always the same. Now I think of a word for the year. This year my word  is “courage.” I need courage for serious things and those that aren’t so serious.

On the less serious side this year, I want the courage to try to create wearables again, but different from the Jacket Jazz flavor.  I plan to make little dresses and tops using the vintage lace, embellishments, and garment pieces I’ve collected over the years.

Yesterday I started designing a little dress using a pattern from Simplicity called Dottie Angel. I noticed this cute pattern when visiting Michele Muska in her booth at Fall Quilt Market. She said she’d send the pattern to me. The pattern was waiting for me when I went to the office after Christmas. The timing was perfect.

DRESS

The Start of a Little Dress Using a Vintage Apron

I worked on the dress most of today. It’s almost finished. I’ll send you a picture later in the week with it complete. Would love to have your input.

In closing:

The following was a wish on a birthday card I received in 2013. I saved it because I thought the sentiment was a good message for a new year, too. Here it is for you.

May you have a moment to reflect on the past year and all you’ve accomplished and to look forward to all that may be waiting for you in the year ahead…

But mostly, in that moment, may you realize here and now what a gift your life is–not just to you but to everyone who knows you.

You are a gift to me. Thank you for being part of my life. Happy New Year! Judy

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 19 Easy Cheesy Potatoes”

  1. bbquiltmaker Says:

    That recipe is a keeper! And you know what a gift you are to me. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Molly Brown Says:

    I love your tiny dress. Perhaps you could have a kit for us to try. I do so much better with guidance. Love your weekly posts. Molly Brown

    Liked by 1 person

    • judymurrah Says:

      Molly, the garments will feature one-of-a-kind vintage pieces so I won’t be able to kit them. I create with these as I go along so couldn’t tell you what to do without doing it myself. Hopefully, you’ll get an idea from the pictures. Thanks for your continued interest.

      Like

  3. Tanya Boenig Says:

    As to the S&B group, we miss you too. Thanks for leaving us with a wonderful group of friends.

    Like

  4. Betty Jo Elder Says:

    I miss you too. Great to see these pictures. I saw Nell Summerlin’s daughter New Year’s Day for a few minutes (she is friends with my Todd’s family). She looks a lot like Nell. Hope you have a happy & healthy New Year.

    Betty Jo Elder Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

