Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 18 Pie Crust

When I was growing-up, my mom made a pie at least once a week. She made the most flaky, light pie crust I ever tasted. After I married, I tried following her recipe many times before I could make a pie crust I was proud to call my mom’s recipe. I think of her every time I roll out the pie dough.

mom

Mom and I Many Years Ago

Mom’s Pie Crust

Ingredients

crust

Pie Crust Ingredients and Supplies

1 cup flour

2 rounding tablespoons Crisco shortening each about the size of an egg

Dash of salt

3 tbls. cold water

Instructions

Mix shortening and flour with pastry blender. Stir to make sure all is moistened. Add 3 tablespoons of cold water. Cut through crust with fork until it starts to come together. Mold it into a ball getting all loose pieces together.

Flour a pastry cloth. Flatten pastry ball on pastry cloth and fold twice. Mom said this is what makes it flaky. Use hands to shape it the same all around. Use a sock on your rolling pin. Lightly flour it by rolling on pastry cloth. Roll dough out flat so it’s large enough to fit pie pan with some excess crust.

dough

Roll-out Dough

Fold crust in half and then transfer to pan. Ease in and flute edges, and then tuck under or cut off excess crust.

crust

Pie Crust Ready to Bake or Fill

If you are to bake the crust without the filling, prick holes in bottom and sides of crust with a fork. Bake 10-15 minutes at 425 degrees. Don’t let it get too brown.

If pie is to be cooked with unbaked pie crust, then do not poke holes in crust before baking pie.

That’s it, just three ingredients and a little practice. Don’t give up.

Because you’ve asked about my health and specifically how I am progressing with the MDS treatment, here’s an update. I haven’t had a blood or platelets transfusion for 4 months. The chemo is working. Thank you, God. I will start the ninth round of chemo on January 7, 2016. I’m doing well, and we are making plans to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary with our family in June this coming year.

us

Tom and Judy

Happy New Year to you and yours. And here’s to 2016…may it be a year full of good blessings for you. Hugs, Judy

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 18 Pie Crust”

  1. bbquiltmaker Says:

    My mother was known for her pie crusts too. Mine come from a red Pillsbury box. Think I’ll have to try this simple recipe in her honor. So glad you are doing so well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • judymurrah Says:

      Thanks. Let me know how your crust works out, Barbara. Often when I’m taking the time to make a pie crust, I think of all the people who are just as happy with what they get in a box.

      Like

  2. Kay Sanderford Says:

    Have thought of u so often and have prayed for u ever since learning of your health challenges. I so enjoy your blog posts.
    What size pie plate do you use? I use an old recipe that starts with 3 cups of flour but I never get 3 full-size pie crusts out of it. Most of my pie plates are 9-9.5 inches or larger.
    I will keep praying for your continued path to fully restored health.

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      Hi Kay, Thank you for your kind thoughts and prayers. I use 9″-10″ pie tin and there is plenty of crust for the larger size. Even if I am making two pie crusts, I make one at a time.

      Like

  3. BettyLou Says:

    Wonder if it would work with gluten free flour, will give it a try. My husband also Myleodysplastic Symdrom, many different chemo sand infusions, all cell counts low but he is still with us and happy to celebrate another Christmas. No chemo now, only on Procrit. Prayers for you both.

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      Dear BettyLou, Blessings to your husband. My daughter-in-law and sister cook gluten-free. I have not heard what they do about pie crust. Let me know if it works out OK for you. Thank you for your prayers.

      Like

  4. SarahAnnSmith Says:

    So glad you are doing well! I’ve done the crisco recipe for years, and it never comes out flaky or tender, so I tried lard this year. WOW what a difference! Incredible! My next try I’ll do 50-50 lard and butter, but I am now a convert. Sounds gross, but tastes heavenly, flaky, tender….wonderful!

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      What is lard? I guess it’s different than Crisco. I’m not sure what Crisco is, other than my mom always baked with it. I probably don’t want to know what it is. Glad you are successful with your pie recipe. Happy New Year, Sarah.

      Like

Leave a Reply

