The Winners of “My Favorite Christmas Recipe or Project” Contest

A few weeks ago, I asked you to send your favorite Christmas project and/or recipe to me for a Christmas contest. My little committee and I chose our favorites yesterday, but we were so busy decorating for Christmas, I didn’t sit down to let you know.

Christmas

Merry Christmas Decorating

I have sent the 24 Fat Quarters batches to the two winners, but I want to share their winning entries with you, my readers. You may want to try them. Now for the drum roll…

The Christmas project winner was submitted by Teresa Duggan. It’s a darling little gift bag. She and her friend, Ann, get together weekly to sew. Besides enjoying each other’s friendships, they create and have fun at the same time. I met once a month with a friend many years ago to create new projects. I looked forward to each get-together. Do you have a “create-with-me” buddy?

Teresa and Ann have made more than 30 of these little gift bags in which to put a small Christmas gift for friends and family. The bags measure 4″ X 4″ X 2″. What do you think they plan to put in these tiny bags?

tiny

4″ X 4″ X 2″

They found the instructions on the “All People Quilt” website. Check-out http://www.allpeoplequilt.com/bags-pillows-gifts/bags-and-purses/tiny-treats for the instructions. The tiny treat bags on the website were made in Halloween fabrics, but certainly can be made in other fabrics for gifting on any occasion.

bags

Little Gift Bags

Our favorite recipe submitted was by Carol Luther. She wrote that this Custard Pecan Pie was her grandmother’s favorite. Her grandmother got the recipe when Carol’s mother was attending Mary Baylor College. On one of her grandmother’s visits to see Carol’s mother she received the recipe from a tea room there.

Ma’s Pecan Pie

Ingredients

1 cup granulated sugar

3 cups whole milk

3 eggs

1 cup pecans

1/2 cup flour

1 tsp. Vanilla

1 tbsp. butter

Instructions

Put milk in sturdy pot and scald.

I googled “scald” and basically it means heat until almost boiling. This was done many years ago before milk was pasteurized.

Separate eggs.

Cream sugar and beaten egg yolks. Add to milk. Stir constantly.

Slowly add 1/2 cup of flour. Continue stirring.

Cook until thick as summer butter. I don’t know what summer butter looks like, but I stirred constantly with a wire whisk until it started to thicken. I was happy with the results.

butter

Like Summer Butter

Add pecans, butter and vanilla. Pour into baked pie shell. Top with meringue and brown.

oven

Just Out of the Oven

I could hardly wait to taste it. My husband was cooking dinner when the pie was cool enough to cut. I must confess I had to try it before dinner. It is so yummy, but very different from the pecan pie recipe I gave you last week. Give it a try.

pie

Pecan Custard Pie

I loved all the recipes, but could only choose one for the Fat Quarter Bundle. There were several recipes submitted using cranberries. What could be more like Christmas than cranberries? I especially liked the recipe I received from Amy Cottrell. I’d like to share it with you, too.

She wrote:

My favorite recipe for Christmas is Cranberry Bread.  The original was from 1965.  I have made some changes.   This recipe is easy and awesome.

Cranberry Bread

INGREDIENTS:

2 Cups Flours

1 ½ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 Cup Sugar

2 Tablespoons shortening

¾ Cup Orange Juice

1 Egg – beaten

1 Cup cranberries, raw, cut ½ Cup into pieces

1 orange rind zested

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a 9x5x3 Loaf Pan

Sift dry ingredients into a bowl. (Flour, Baking Power, Baking Soda, Salt, Sugar)

Mix in shortening, juice, and egg.

Fold in cranberries.

Grease pan and pour in loaf pan until done

Bake at 350 for about 40-50 minutes. Bread is done when a toothpick is inserted and comes out clean.

So there you have it. Two recipes and a little project. Let me know, if you try any of them. Thanks to all of you who took the time to enter my little contest. It was fun reading your entries. Hope you’ll play along again next time. Would love to hear from everyone.

baking

Happy Holiday Baking

Merry Christmas to you and yours, Judy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “The Winners of “My Favorite Christmas Recipe or Project” Contest”

  1. bbquiltmaker Says:

    I want to sew weekly with Teresa and Ann! Love those gift bags.

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      Barbara, I’m sure you could whip up lots of them in no time. That would be child’s play compared to the intricate quilt patterns you make. Yes, a buddy to create with weekly is a treat. Enjoy the holidays.

      Like

  2. Carolyn Says:

    Hi Judy,
    I hope you are feeling strong and full of energy. Thank you for your blog – I do enjoy each and every one.

    Questions about “Ma’s Pecan Pie”: How much sugar? Does it call for granulated sugar or brown sugar? Did you toast the pecans before putting them in the cooked custard mixture? How would you describe the custard? Very mild flavor? Mildly sweet? or not…

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      Oh, dear, Carolyn. I did leave the 1 cup granulated sugar off the recipe. Thank you for catching that. I did not toast the pecans. The recipe did not say to chop the pecans, but I think I will next time. The custard is mildly sweet. The texture is silky. Glad to have you as a reader.

      Like

  3. Carolyn Says:

    Thank you, Judy! I’m going to try “Ma’s pecan pie recipe”. I have always found the traditional pecan pie to be too sweet – but enjoy the taste of pecans. Thank you for sharing all of you recipes, your journey, and your graciousness.

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      Carolyn, I heard from Carol, the sender of “Ma’s Pecan Pie” recipe. She said often she makes just the custard in cups without pecans. The next time I make the pie, I will chop the pecans. Merry Christmas.

      Like

Leave a Reply

