Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 12 Lasagna

This week I’m a day early with your weekly recipe. Today we are going to College Station for a Letterman’s get-together of the guys who played on the first team Gene Stallings coached at Texas A & M. Needless to say there will be many embellished stories going around the next couple of days. It will be fun.

Yesterday I spent the day making another garment to wear at Fall Market and Quilt Festival. Fabric manufacturers and pattern companies, who exhibit with us, are happy to give us their new fabric line and pattern line for us to make and wear.

My latest garment is made from Vintage Modern fabric designed by Amy Barickman for RJR Fabrics. The pattern is Over the Top Tunic from Indygo Junction by Amy Barickman. Our Education staff will also be wearing a garment of their choice made in this same fabric line and color way. It will be easy to identify us on the days we wear them. Look for us on the third floor of the George R. Brown Convention Center. That’s where all the classes are held for 10 days. Come visit me in room 340AB. I would love to see you.

tunic

Over the Top Tunic Front

tunic

Over the Top Tunic Back

I have been sewing and creating since I was a little girl. Every where we have lived I have found friends who also love to create with their hands.

The recipe this week came from Emily Waldron, (from her grandmother) my best friend while Tommy was going to graduate school in 1969-71 in Boston. We each had a young son and did not work outside the home. We got together once a week, alternating our homes while our husbands were in school. We each had only one car so the husbands would come to the house where we were for dinner, and then we’d go home after dinner. It was always a fun day making crafts and dinner together while our sons napped and played with each other.

Best Ever Lasagna

Makes two 9″ X 13″ casseroles

Instructions

Brown 

2 lbs. ground meat

4 crushed garlic cloves

Add

12 oz. can tomato paste

28 oz. can tomatoes diced with juice

½ tsp. salt

¼ tsp. pepper

2 tablespoons Oregano

Cover and simmer 30 minutes until slightly thickened.

Cook

1 lb. Lasagna noodles. Drain.

Mix 

3 eggs

dash salt and pepper

¼ cup dried parsley

30 oz. Ricotta cheese

Fill casseroles with alternate layers of 

Meat sauce

Noodles

Egg and Ricotta cheese mixture

Cheeses (2 pkgs. Grated Mozzarella and 2 pkgs. Parmesan)

Start with a thin layer of meat sauce. End with sauce and cheese. Cover with foil. Bake at 375 degrees for 1 hour. Remove foil last 20 minutes of baking.

This is a great recipe to make for a group of 12. Serve with a green salad and chocolate dessert.

It’s my birthday this month, and I plan to celebrate every opportunity I get. My chemo treatments are working, and I’m thrilled to have another birthday.

birthday

Happy Birthday to Me

Lots of love, hugs and kisses until next week, Judy

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 12 Lasagna”

  1. Theresa Plastino Says:

    Oh Judy, I am so glad that you are doing so well. I remember now that you had an Oct. birthday. So Happy Happy Birthday from your APSA friend. You are an amazing, amazing woman. I love reading your blog! I pray for you often.

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      Thank you, Terry. How wonderful to hear from you. I think of you often, too. This morning I came across a picture of you, Bob and Rob when I was looking for something else. You were my creative friend when we were at APSA. Much love to you and thank you for praying for me.

      Like

  2. Mary Says:

    You are so creative. Love how you put the fabrics together in the garment. This will be the best ever Festival! Your BDay will be celebrated in style and we too will certainly be remembering you on Your Day. Hugs, dear cousin.

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      Mary Jane, I’ll miss you at the show. Suzanne won’t be an exhibitor either. It will be a first in more than 20 years. Hopefully, you’ll both be back next year. Love and hugs.

      Like

Leave a Reply

