Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 7 Ginger Cookies

Here it is Tuesday morning, and I am just now getting Saturday’s recipe to you. Our son, Troy, came with his wife, Michelle, and baby Thompson for a two-week visit. The first week has been wonderful. We’ve had a great time on the go every day. Thompson is an unbelievably sweet, agreeable 3-month old baby. We take him everywhere, and he’s happy and content to be with us wherever we go. He laughs and coos and is intent on what everyone is doing around him. We love having all three of them with us.

Troy, Michelle, & Thompson Visit Grammy & Granddaddy

Troy, Michelle, & Thompson Visit Grammy & Granddaddy’s House

I made a batch of Ginger Cookies before they came last Tuesday. I know how much they both love them. My mom, Ruby Earl Olafson, made these cookies at Christmas each year. Several years after Mom died, Troy asked me to make the cookies. I found a recipe for “Crinkle Tops” in a cookbook I received when I married in 1966. I imagine one of my aunts sent the book to me because it came from St. Olaf Lutheran Church in Austin, Minnesota. Everyone in our family loves these cookies. The “little girls” love to roll them into balls and dip them into sugar for baking. They are so easy.

Sydney Huebner Helping Me Bake Cookies

Sydney Huebner Helping Me Bake Ginger Cookies

Ginger Cookies

Ingredients

1 cup shortening

½ cup butter

4 cups flour

2 cups sugar

½ tsp. salt

4 tsp. baking soda

3 tsp. ginger

3 tsp. cinnamon

½ tsp. nutmeg

2 eggs beaten

½ cup Grandma’s Molasses

Instructions

Sift dry ingredients together. Add other ingredients and mix with mixer. Roll in 1” balls and dip in sugar. Place sugar side up on cookie sheet. Bake in 350 degree oven 8-10 minutes or until light brown and crinkled on top. Remove from cookie sheet after 1 minute and cool single layer on waxed paper.

Cookie Jar Half Empty

Cookie Jar Half Empty

Hope your day is full of love and fun things to do. Today I will go to MD Anderson for bandage change,  blood work and bone marrow aspiration. Hopefully my  PA  will say there is no need for a transfusion, and I’ll be home after review with her. Thursday I’ll be back at MDA for an EKG, more blood work, and appointment with Dr. Garcia-Manero, my oncologist. If all my counts are good, and he says the chemo is still working, I’ll start the fifth round that day. I take chemo by tablet, so I’ll be home the remainder of the days the Murrah family from Long Beach will be with us. I don’t want to miss a minute more than necessary being with them. Be with someone you love today. I wish you a happy day. Love and hugs, Judy

What Joy!

What Joy! My Happy Boy.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 7 Ginger Cookies”

  1. Vicki Thomas Says:

    How precious, Judy! I’m so glad that Murrah boy is finally seeing some of TEXAS!! Give everyone a big hug for me. I’ll be thinking of you this week. XOXO

    Like

  2. Kay Smith Says:

    Your ginger cookies sound yummy! I will also try this recipe of yours!! Some of the photos you post of you granddaughters always flash me back in time as I see you in so many ways! They are blessed to have your sweet spirit and it shows in the photos! Hope things go well with the doctor visits…yes, do not miss a moment with your son and his precious little family!

    Like

  3. judymurrah Says:

    Hi Kay. I love hearing from you again. Your comments are always so special. Hope you are doing well. Would love to see you sometime.

    Like

    • Kay Smith Says:

      I feel the same about your postings, pictures and love your blog! Your words always take me back to a softer, kinder time in life! We had good years growing up and being a part of the Jefferson High family! So many warm memories of which you are a part of. It would be nice to see you…perhaps one day at your sister’s shop in San Antonio! Your “apples” still call me to stop by her shop and I will! Take care Judy and I pray you hear good news tomorrow!

      Like

  4. judymurrah Says:

    Thank you, again, Kay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

