Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 2 Baked Chicken

I had to add this recipe to our family favorites for Todd, our oldest son. I have found out over the years how much he disliked much of my cooking when he was growing-up. What a polite boy not to tell me when he lived under our roof. He especially disliked having chicken as often as I served it. Weight Watchers was a big advocate for eating baked chicken. I was forever trying to get to 124 pounds like I was before I approached age 40.

Joanie Olafson McDonald gave me this recipe early in our marriage. I still bake it often as our meat course or to put in recipes that call for baked chicken. Joanie was our middle sister. She was killed in a car accident on June 1, 1989. She was only 50 years old. I remember playing Jacks with her with a golf ball when we were young. She was the most generous and caring person I have ever known. She also was very curious. How often I wish she could have been with me over the years. Gosh, I’ve missed her.

Our Middle Sister, Joanie

Our Middle Sister, Joanie

Easy Bake Chicken

Ingredients

4 boneless chicken breasts without skin

¼ cup butter

Juice of half of lime or lemon

Lemon pepper

Garlic powder or minced garlic

Instructions

Wash chicken and drain on paper towel. Melt butter in baking dish in oven set at 350 degrees. Coat chicken on both sides with melted butter. Place meaty side up in dish. Sprinkle with juice. Generously shake lemon pepper and garlic on top. Put in oven for 30 minutes. Take out of oven. Turn over breasts and coat with more lemon pepper and garlic. Bake 20 more minutes. Turn chicken meaty side up again and bake 10 more minutes.

Joanie, My Sister and Me

Joanie, my sister, and me

This picture was taken at a going-away party for me in 1982 at Great Expectations Quilts where I taught for many years. Karey Bresenhan, the owner of the shop, organized the surprise party for me plus the quilt of hearts hanging in the background. Each heart was made and signed by one of my students, family member, or friends. It was so special to have Joanie there at the party.

I hope you are having parties and fun this summer. Make each day count. They are so precious. Much love, Judy

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 2 Baked Chicken”

  1. Jimmy McDonald Says:

    Love your post!

    Thanks!

    Jimmy & Sheryl

    Jimmy D. McDonald & Sheryl E. McDonald

    Artists / 281-356-6131 studio / 281-770-8205 cell

    14135 Stagecoach Rd. / Magnolia, TX 77355

    jimmy@jdmdesigns.com / http://www.JimmyDMcDonald.com

    Like

  2. judymurrah Says:

    Thought you would like being reminded of your precious mother. She was the best! Love you, D.

    Like

  3. Pam Sayles Says:

    Oh Judy, these pictures are wonderful. Joanie is on my mind every single Saturday of my life. Warms my heart this Saturday morning.
    Her whole face smiled when she smiled. Her two sons have the same. She is truly one of the angels among us. I miss her so much and blessed to have had the fun and laughs together.

    Like

  4. MaryJ Says:

    Dear sweet, beautiful Joanie. I will always cherish my memories of her giving us manicures, pedicures, fixing our brows, and doing my hair–so special for a farm girl from Minnesota.

    I stayed with Joanie and family when we came to Texas for your wedding. I will need to dig out those pictures and renew my memories of that time. I know that when I saw Jimmy D. last November at Festival that I had not seen him since your wedding and he was a little boy.

    I do have the magazine and article that featured Great Expectations and the beautiful pictures of you in it. I’m sure your Mom had told me about it and I was so amazed at what you were accomplishing and doing in quilting. I was in awe of you! Do you remember as young teens when I visited–we always sewed something–how about when we made the can-can slips to make our skirts billow out. That was the time I sewed a machine needle through my finger–oh, dear–your Mom was so worried about my doing that–but we just went into the bathroom poured alcohol on it and pulled it out! And I was fine.

    Thanks for the memories…Love ya, Mary Jane

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      Thank you, Mary Jane, for the memories. You always remember things I have forgotten. It’s so good to be reminded. I would love to see copies of any pictures you have from our times together when we were growing up. I don’t think I have any. I think of you often.

      Like

Leave a Reply

