Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 1 Banana Nut Bread

Rarely have I been known for my talent in the kitchen. For many years I really didn’t like to cook. I’d much rather be in my studio spending time creating something that lasts than spending time in the kitchen making something that is gone 20 minutes after served.

As our children grew, married, moved away, and started families of their own, I hoped they would come home for birthdays and holidays. If I wanted them in our home, I needed to feed them. So cooking something they would look forward to eating became important.

I relied on recipes my mom had cooked for family gatherings and recipes I received from friends. Eventually my children would call and ask me for a particular recipe I had served. Friends began asking for my recipes, too. So Grammy’s Cookbook was created as Christmas gifts for family and friends in 2009.

Grammy's Cookbook

Grammy’s Cookbook

I use this cookbook more than any other I have in my kitchen.  Over the six years since I compiled the first cookbook, I have added a few more recipes and made additions to others. Recently I made a second edition with a new cover to include the children and grandchildren as they have changed. When we get our newest grandson in our home for the first time this cover will be outdated. It will be a while before T will be able to cook with Grammy in the kitchen, but I look forward to it.

In the Kitchen with Grammy

In the Kitchen With Grammy

The cookbook has been fun to compile as it’s a reminder of family, friends, and special occasions in the past. At the top of each recipe I write a little memo about where I got the recipe. Since others have requested my little book of a couple of dozen recipes, I thought you might like them, too. So page 1 of my “special” recipes follows. I’ve compiled them in alphabetical order. If they are easy for me, they will be easy for you. However, I don’t promise they are calorie-free.

Banana Nut Bread Recipe

 This recipe came from Willie Hart, a dear friend. She and I have been Vice Presidents of Quilts, Inc. for many years. She brought some slices of the Banana Nut Bread to me in the airport when we were flying out for a quilt show site inspection. I had other Banana Nut Bread recipes, but never used them again once I received this one from Willie. It’s very moist and tasty.

 Ingredients

½ cup Wesson Oil

¼ cup oleo margarine or butter

2 cups of sugar

4 whole eggs

7-8 ripe bananas

I freeze bananas that are too ripe to eat. Peel them and keep them in a plastic bag in the freezer until you have enough to make Banana Nut Bread. Thaw before mixing. Don’t be alarmed as they will be brown and watery when thawed. They work just fine.

3 cups of flour

2 tsp. soda

½ tsp. salt

2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. nutmeg

1 ½ cups coarsely chopped pecans

1 tsp. vanilla

Instructions

Combine oil, butter, sugar, and bananas. Cream until smooth.

Sift together all dry ingredients. Add to the banana mixture alternating with the eggs.

Add pecans.

Spray 2 loaf pans with Pam. Pour batter into pans.

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 ½ hours.

Remove from pans when cool. Keep one for yourself and give the other away. You’ll make someone very happy.

My Friend, Willie, and me

My Friend, Willie, and me

Hope you’ll try this recipe from Willie. If you do, let me hear from you. I’ll post page 2 from my recipe book next Saturday. Until then, I hope you have a great week. Hugs and kisses, Judy

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Saturday’s Simple Recipe Page 1 Banana Nut Bread”

  1. bbquiltmaker Says:

    Great idea! I’m definitely keeping this one as bananas go bad here so quickly.

    Like

  2. leslie Tucker Jenison Says:

    Such a great thing and everyone in the family will have a set of precious food memories! I have been contemplating doing the same thing.

    Like

  3. MaryJ Says:

    I treasure your cookbook! Love ya!

    Like

  4. Tamara Says:

    I love my cookbook:-)

    Like

  5. Gee Jen Says:

    I have a young family and really don’t like to cook – I need to change my mindframe…or win the lottery! Thanks for sharing you’re recipes and stories

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      You know, Gee Jen, I didn’t like to cook when I was younger either. It took so much time to fix and so little time for everyone to eat it. I would rather have spent time in my studio. Now I use mostly only the recipes in the book I’m sending to you page-by-page weekly. They are all fairly simple. Hope you find some you like to make.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

