Welcome to My Studio

 

A grand tour awaits you in the fall issue of Where Women Create, but here’s a little amateur sneak peek from me. Yes, I am so delighted I will be one of the featured studios in my most favorite magazine to come out the same time as our 40th Quilt Festival Anniversary. There’s a lot to look forward to this fall. I’ll keep you posted on some exciting things to happen at Fall Quilt Festival 2014, but today here’s my little tour of my studio.

WELCOME! COME ON IN!

Enter Here from Hallway

Enter Here from Hallway

I love displaying things on my walls that have special meaning to me such as small antique boxes, pieces I made in classes, things from friends, my children, grandchildren, photos taken and works by artists I admire. I feel surrounded by love and inspiration.

On the Right Side

On the Right Side as You Enter

Details of Right Side

Details of Right Side

Collection of Wooden Spools

Collection of Wooden Spools

Antique Shelves & Drawers

Antique Shelves, Jars & Drawers Hold Important Stuff

End of that Wall

End of that Wall

Then there are three windows that create a bay where my sewing machine is facing the windows looking out onto a park. It’s really pretty in the green of spring and summer. My kitties like to join me in my studio and sitting where I need to be is a favorite spot.

Kitties Join Me

Kitties Join Me

Then there’s a little corner before turning to the left and my design wall and then studio closet.

Little Corner Next to Windows

Little Corner Next to Windows

Design Wall Begins

Design Wall Begins

My studio is upstairs in our home and the room was meant to be a bedroom therefore the drapes and carpeting. Before we moved-in 7 1/2 years ago, I had a few things done to make it workable as a studio. The walk-in closet was outfitted with shelves. Two full-spectrum fluorescent ceiling lights were added. A design wall was created out of Celotex covered with Warm and Natural cotton batting on the largest wall.

Closet in Studio

Closet in Studio

Then we turn the corner and after the closet is the wall for my ironing board and wire drawers with more cubbies on the wall for treasures.

Ironing & Treasures Wall

Ironing & Treasures Wall

Printer's Box & Drawers

Printer’s Tray & Drawers

Shelves with Jars & Keys

Shelf with Jars & Keys

More on Walls

More Mementos on Wall

And that takes you around the perimeter of my studio. Where do I sew, cut and design you ask? It’s in the middle that you didn’t see. I said this was just a teaser. Get the professional tour in the fall issue of Where Women Create.  Hope you enjoyed my little tour.

COME BACK NOW, YOU HEAR?

Leaving Studio

Leaving Studio

Button Jars in Hallway

Button Jars in Hallway

BYE.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 Responses to “Welcome to My Studio”

  1. Lesley Riley Says:

    How fun! Loved the sneak peek and seeing my work hanging in your studio too! You’ll be able to see into mine in the winter issue of Studios magazine! See you in October! xox

    Liked by 1 person

  2. judymurrah Says:

    Glad you took a peek, Lesley. I was hoping my friends and family would recognize their work in my studio. I love it all.

    Like

  3. Linda M Poole Says:

    Oh Judy!!!! So beautiful and one can get lost for hours upon hours in your beautiful creative studio! Congrats for having your room in the magazine. A real honor!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. David S. sims Says:

    Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jennyklyon Says:

    Beautiful, spacious, with a drop dead view-lucky you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nancy Penry Says:

    Love it, Judy! Thanks for sharing!!!

    Nancy

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Barbara B Says:

    Great to see your creative space again. I’ll look forward to the magazine spread.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lslyefan@aol.com Says:

    Judy, Wow, what a studio you have! Congratulations for being chosen to be in the Where Women Crete magazine. Can’t wait to see the entire layout. A Sewing Admirer, Phyllis in CA

    Liked by 1 person

    • judymurrah Says:

      Thanks, Phyllis. I love being in my studio. Hope you have a place you can call your own, too. It works even if it’s a corner. Over the years I have used the end of our bedroom, part of the utility room and a closet for a space of my own. I even had my own space as a little girl in a room I shared with two sisters. I think it’s important for those of us who love to create.

      Like

  9. Kim DeCoste Says:

    Great tour, without giving everything away!

    Kim DeCoste
    Education
    Quilts, Inc.
    7660 Woodway, Ste. #550
    Houston, TX 77063 USA
    713/781-6864 ext. 122
    Fax: 713/781-8182
    edu@quilts.com
    http://www.quilts.com
    We’re Quilts!™
    http://www.facebook.com/QuiltMarket
    http://www.twitter.com/QuiltMarket
    http://www.facebook.com/QuiltFestival
    http://www.twitter.com/QuiltFestival

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      Yes, Kim, even after those boxes and boxes of things I shared with people in the office there is still much, much more I haven’t even shown yet. I’m set for life with stuff for play.

      Like

Leave a Reply

