Play Date #3 Treasure Boxes

Last week was a busy week and now it’s Valentine’s Day. Happy Valentine’s Day everyone.

The first part of the week was spent in La Grange, Texas for Quilts, Inc. executive and leadership meetings for two days. Then it was home to prepare dinner for 16 for the following night.

All the decorating and preparation paid off when I hosted the February Bunko Club meeting for Gad-About-Girls on February 9th. It was a fun evening full of lots of  food, drink, prizes, laughter, and screams of “Bunko.” With four tables of happy ladies playing, the evening passed quickly. Soon, it was time to say good-bye until we meet again next month.

bunko party

Bunko Party

The next morning came quickly.  It was time to drive an hour to pick-up our daughter’s three children for the week-end while she was skiing with her husband and friends. Ashton, who turns four in a couple of days, is all about rough and tumble and making the six and eight-year old girls laugh at his little boy humor. The girls were all about creating again in Grammy’s studio.

In the studio

Studio

Lindsey, the almost nine-year old, had plans to make a tag blanket for her babysitter’s new grandson.

lindsey and tag blanket

Lindsey and Tag Blanket

Sydney had plans to make a patchwork pillow for her pretend puppy. The pretend puppy is her little brother who will stay in dog character for long durations of time.

Sydney's doggie pillow

Sydney's Puppy Pillow and Ashton

As Sydney was pinning her patches together she noticed a long, red antique wooden box that sets on my sewing table. I’m not sure why she hasn’t opened it before, because she is very curious about everything in my studio.

She did open it this time and exclaimed, “Wow! It’s a treasure box!” I keep the box on my sewing table to pick things from when designing a collage of some type. There are other smaller button, trinket, and trim boxes on the back side of my sewing table, but the red one has an assortment of all kinds of embellishments.

original treasure box

Original Treasure Box

Sydney questioned how I would ever use all the “treasures”  before getting too old. I told her I hope she and my other granddaughters will take what I still have some day and use it themselves. Each time any of the three of them are here they do take “treasures” home from my sewing room.

I have created all my adult life using things I have bought at quilt shops, antique and junk shops, discount stores, garage sales, estate sales, quilt shows, etc. I was recycling long before that was a popular term, saving things that are too good to throw out, and I love it all. The question is a good one, “how will I ever use it all?” Our upstairs closets are full of old and new laces, ribbons, fabrics, buttons, beads, charms, started patchwork projects, cording, rick-rack, braid, vintage photographs, silk flowers, etc. The list of treasures goes on and on.

For Valentine gifts one year, I made trinket boxes from small jewelry gift boxes for special friends. I filled the boxes with charms, small silk flowers, lace appliques, buttons, ribbon, small photos, little quotes, etc.

trinket boxes

Trinket Boxes

After Sydney’s comment, I decided to make “treasure boxes” from small and medium size gift boxes. You might like making them, too. Here’s how.

Treasure Boxes

You will need: sturdy gift box, image from greeting card or sturdy paper to cover box lid, Elmer’s glue or something similar, scissors, spray glitter, a tall bag in which to spray the glitter.

Remove lid from box. Squeeze glue on top side.

place glue on outside of box lid

Place Glue on Outside of Box Lid

Spread glue evenly with finger. Make sure you get it out to the edges.

Place glue side down on wrong side of picture. You can hold it up to the light to see the image outline through the lid to position it. Smooth from inside of box lid.

smooth inside box lid

Smooth Inside Box Lid

Turn over and smooth on image side. Cut extending paper away from box lid.

trim excess paper

Trim Away Excess Paper

Turn lid face down on table and place object inside of lid while it dries.

After it dries, place box lid in tall, standing bag with image up. You may spray several at a time.

spray glitter inside bag

Spray Glitter Inside Tall Bag

Following manufacturer’s instructions, spray glitter on box lid image. Let dry.

Gather treasures for filling box.

treasures spread out

Treasures Spread Out For Box

Fill box to the brim with treasures gathered.

Treasures in Box

Treasures in box

Place decorated lid on top. Tie with a pretty ribbon. Now it’s ready.

box filled and completed

Treasure Box Completed and Filled to Brim

I made several of these today and put them in my etsy shop. The treasures are perfect for mixed-media artists, crazy quilters, and embellishers. Take a look for more ideas or pick one made especially for you.

I hope your Valentine’s Day is a treasure to behold. With love, Judy

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 Responses to “Play Date #3 Treasure Boxes”

  1. Brenda Wall Says:

    What a fantastic idea for friends who love to create. Thank you for sharing this idea of the treasure boxes.
    I enjoy that you love to make memories with your grandchildren. My Gianni is 10 and learning to quilt and my Will is 7 and quite the artist. They love spending time making memories with grandparents. You grandchildren are precious. They do keep us young.

    Like

  2. judymurrah Says:

    Yes, Brenda, those babes do keep us young. However, at the end of three days with them in our care, I’m not so sure. I believe it is easier to go to an office each day than it is to care for a family as your job of choice. Hope you get a chance to make treasure boxes for your friends. They’d love to receive one. Happy Valentine’s Day.

    Like

  3. Vicki Thomas Says:

    Thanks for taking me into your studio, and reminding me of alllll your wonderful treasures! You inspire me!
    Happy Valentines Day, Judy!

    Like

  4. Lesley Riley Says:

    The treasure boxes are a FANTASTIC idea. I’m going to make it a granddaughter tradition. Wish I had known about them sooner, what wonderful Valentines they would have made. Thank goodness there’s always next year!

    Like

  5. Julie Murrah Says:

    Love your treasure boxes!! I’ve always loved all the beautiful treasures you have in your studio…anything and everything you could ever need to create something special. Happy Valentine’s Day!!

    Like

  6. judymurrah Says:

    Hope you had a great Valentine’s Day, Julie. I know you feel loved every day of the year by your family, but it’s always good to hear it again. We love you here. Hugs to everyone in the four family.

    Like

  7. Vicki Mangum Says:

    What a fantastic idea! I know my Miss “O” will love doing this and sharing with her art teacher. Thanks for for sharing and taking us into your studio Judy.

    Like

  8. You call me holla molla Says:

    They are “stars” again! I know they will be so excited. Thanks again mom – the kids had a blast and haven’t stopped talking about their fun weekend. They laughed uncontrollably when talking about walking to the car after the movie. Hee! Hee! Xoxoxo. Oh! And I love the treasure box idea – I’ve always been a fan of grab bags! For some reason – I’ve just always felt lucky.

    Like

    • judymurrah Says:

      Trying to get in the wrong car was hilarious. I haven’t laughed so hard in I don’t know when. To have the little girls laugh so hard, too, made it even funnier. Yes, you have always been lucky in those grab bags and drawings. Keep it up! Hugs.

      Like

  9. You call me holla molla Says:

    Wow! 5,135 hits – whoohoo. You go mom!

    Like

Leave a Reply

